HOW TO CHOOSE YOUR DOG AND NEVER REGRET IT!

IMG_5523Let’s talk about why you want a dog and then how to choose the right dog for you!

If your reading this I know your probably an animal lover like me. Are you considering getting a dog or perhaps adding a second dog? I’m glad your here.

My reason for writing this is to help you or someone you know make an informed choice so that you can make the right choice. For you, your family but also the dog!

People are always curious about Riley and I. And I often hear compliments and surprise at his calm demeanor and the fact that Border Collies aren’t typically used for Service Dogs. And that would be correct. Riley is the son of a champion Westminster dog by the name of Merlin, with his roots reaching way back in history as to his breeding. That doesn’t make him a better dog than another or change his natural herding instincts in any way. He is a Border Collie through and through. BUT I am an experienced dog owner having owned and raised many dogs over the years.

Think about your family habits and activities before you decide on a breed….your lifestyle and how you have fun matters in your choice of dog. If you are really “out there, extravert, active, etc., ” then the dog you choose should match your personality, style and be a great fit for your family.

Emotions usually rule your choice in choosing your dog.

So let me ask you….would you choose a Jack Russell Terrier if you wanted a quiet, easy to manage lap dog? Consider this scenario…your friends have a great Jack Russell Terrier, and you’ve decided your going to get the very same breed. You’ve heard they’re stubborn, but you don’t care. “That puppy you saw was so darned cute.” But…. Jack Russells were historically used to hunt fox and that dates back to exclusive breeding in England through the 18th and 19th centuries. Did you know the whiter the backside of a Jack Russell, the more valuable they are considered. That’s because they would chase a fox into what they called a “den pipe” and the whiter their backside, the more visible it would be sticking out of the “hole.” So they could be found.

The Jack Russell is stubborn because they were bred to problem solve. It’s in their blood to work! So with information you may not have thought of, at first sight of that cute Jack Russell puppy (or fill in the breed) NOW, would you still choose this if you wanted a lap dog?

What is often described as “stubborn” can just be intelligence misunderstood. It’s important to understand all of the characteristics of the breeds your interested in, because you will get something of those characteristics and will have to deal with whatever comes up through the years you have your dog!

Dogs are as individual as people and come with genetic codes you can’t necessarily fix. And shouldn’t because it’s what gives them their charm and personality. Those unique characteristics to each breed is what people hear about and want. But….to have a great dog, that you can enjoy, that really fits in to your life, you are going to have to “train it” early on, so that…

1) you establish yourself as the pack leader and                                                                                  2) nip those characteristics, that bring the charm, early on!

*Side note: Manners are established young. From the day you bring your new pup home you can begin to train. Of course theres a limit to what your puppy can do and like all babies and toddlers, your dealing with a limited attentions span….but jumping up on you, tugging on your socks, shoes or anything else….if you don’t want an adult dog that does it, then don’t let your puppy!

But let’s get back to the “cuteness” of that puppy you’ve just seen, that’s triggered an emotional response that it may be time to get a dog. It happens to all of us…we see a puppy and get swept up into the moment or a nostalgic memory is triggered and common sense goes out the window. Then again, it may just be the right time.

My concern about choice of breed and understanding what your getting goes back to overcrowded shelters and misunderstood dogs. Even the mixes, are mixed BREEDS and you need to understand what those characteristics are. Shelters are over crowded and depending on where you are in the world, dogs roaming the streets homeless.

I want to tell you how I came to the decision to get Riley. Nothing about Riley is conventional or typical as a service dog goes, but at the time I was a busy active woman, that had no way of knowing I would ever need a service dog.

It started with a dog named CB. I met CB and his owners Keith and Wendy on a recreational field on the big island of Hawaii. I will never forget it.

As we pulled into parking spots next to each other that morning….and that striking dog jumped out of his truck with one thing on his mind…..his ball!

I was immediately drawn in.

I began to ask Keith and Wendy questions about the breed. I expressed how much I loved his intensity and focus on the ball. As I stood watching as intently as CB focused on his ball, Wendy seemed to shrug and tell me why this breed wasn’t such a good idea. But in this moment, I was feeling that dog somehow matched me. Nothing she could say would change my mind or my fascination watching as CB stooped low in position with every throw, to chase his ball. I’d never seen a domestic animal with such intense focus.

I could feel that familiar “joy”. This was a triggered moment, I was the kid in the candy store. Like a magnet to a paper clip.

Without reservation I can remember humorously saying to myself “I’m gunna get me a CB!”

Keith realized my enthusiasm for CB and told me they planned to breed him but hadn’t found the right female, as the island was limited. We exchanged contact information and went on our way. I was going back to my condo to research this breed. And that I did.

My plate was full as a mom, a fitness trainer and most of all my own triathlon training took hours up in my day. I was living my dream life, doing what I loved and I had no business even thinking about getting another dog. At home there were 3 dogs, 4 cats and a parrot waiting for me. AND I lived part of the year in Hawaii, so I was away a lot. But I was fortunate to have my mom living with me, so everyone was cared for and their lives never skipped a beat.

But the force of my intention for this breed was so strong, and I knew a match to me. I began to justify my decision, this would be the perfect training partner…and in my particular case, something wasn’t quite right in my world at the time. I knew it, but couldn’t put my finger on it. Which made considering another dog even more bazaar.

What I share here is the “sudden trigger and intention” however that looks, when you decide to get a dog.

But sadly many of these triggered moments end in a sad story. Somebody falls in love with a puppy that grows up and they can’t keep for one reason or another as the story goes “grew too big” or “became an untrainable monster.” Maybe there was a job transfer and so on.

What blows my mind is that some people forget these are family members. A pet needs to be brought in as you would plan for a human baby. There is nurturing needed and rules to follow, and you have to learn who they are as individuals and make them fit into your life, not the other way around.

IT’S TIME FOR FAMILY PLANNING

Think about your lifestyle. Look ahead 5 even 10 years from where you are now.

What do you see?

Are you married, will you be?

Do you plan on having a family, or do you already have kids? If so how old are they and what does your life look like in 10 years from now?

Do you travel for work or enjoy having the freedom to come and go as you please? If you do travel, do you have someone to take care of your dog? Or will you have daycare costs to think about?

Do you have a yard? It’s fine if you don’t, but you may want to consider the breed and ease of getting to the outside if your in an apartment of condo complex, for instance.

HEALTHCARE                                                                                                                                     There are planned and unplanned costs involved over the lifetime of your dog. Early on it’s the regular puppy exams and shots. But there are yearly’s and things just come up. Riley had one emergency that cost me $2800 initially. But thanks to insurance my out of pocket expense was only $600. So pet insurance.

Flea & tick control, leads me to the topic of….

GROOMING                                                                                                                                       Think about the grooming needs of the breed you are considering.

Who will do the grooming, you?

or will you take them to a groomer? I suggest you look into these costs ahead of time.

THE BREED                                                                                                                                            Look at the characteristics of the breed you are interested in and don’t think you can alter them to fit into what you want. Just as you have the characteristics of your lineage, so do they!

How big will the breed get.

Do you know what you want? Consider the size to your living environment. Think about where you go, the ease of taking your dog or their carrier with you.

All dogs shed, but there are breeds considered to be hypo-allergenic. Like the Schnauzers, poodles, etc. Just like humans, they will lose hair, just not as much. Maybe the hairless Rex is something you want to consider. Did you know they can sunburn? If you live in a warm sunny area, you won’t be able to put them in cute sweaters…so how you manage caring for them is something to think about.

And don’t forget the equipment and things you will need;                                                                       Collar, leash, licensing, a bed.                                                                                                                            A CRATE is something I consider to be an absolute necessity for a puppy. Your crate has to be roomy enough for your dog when it’s full grown. This is the undisputed best way to housebreak you puppy and keep them safe when you are away. It is NOT cruel. Remember understand your breed and dogs in general. In canine language, the crate equates to his “den” in the wild….

RESEARCH……In a nano second, with computers and available technology, you can have all the information you need at your fingertips to understand the breed you are considering.

BREEDERS vs. SHELTERS

I like to stay away from the trendy breeds and designer dogs. (cats too) They come with their own set of problems. The fancier the breed is and new to the canine world, the less we know of inherent problems that could occur….But that is just my personal choice it may not be yours.

Decide what you want in a dog and don’t let someone else decide for you. Know what your needs are and theirs, and plan accordingly. If you know this isn’t the right time for your family to adopt a dog, then don’t. When the time is right, there will be the right dog waiting for you. Just as Riley was Divinely there for me!

THIS DECISION NEEDS TO BE CAREFULLY MADE. YOU ARE ADOPTING A NEW FAMILY MEMBER. MOVING, MISTREATMENT, OR GIVING AWAY A FAMILY PET IS TRAUMATIC TO A CHILD. ONCE YOU MAKE THIS CHOICE, WHAT THIS DOG BECOMES IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. TRAIN IT, LOVE IT AND DISCIPLINE IT. REMEMBER YOUR CHILDREN ARE LEARNING FROM YOU HOW TO NURTURE, LOVE AND CARE FOR THEIR PET.  

2 thoughts on “HOW TO CHOOSE YOUR DOG AND NEVER REGRET IT!

  1. Tamara Vanlint

    Really good post about putting thought into getting a dog. I did not consider all of these before I got mine…. it was a bit of a shock. I was more of a cat person but I had three children at the time and thought it would be great to get a dog for them. My son is allergic so we got a cockapoo that doesn’t shed. He is perfect for us. Smart and loyal. Lots of grooming because his hair doesn’t shed and keeps growing…. but he is the perfect dog for us. We love him and he has made such a difference in our lives. Dogs are so amazing.

    Reply
  2. accomplishcoach

    It’s been a long time since I had a dog and I’m sure my mom didn’t put much thought into it other than it was supposed to be obedient or protective. I really liked how you covered all the aspects of what to consider.

    Reply

Leave a comment